Unemployment


The title of this post is Unemployment. I wanted to write this post because my wife has been unemployed for almost 15 months as of today. Granted she gave birth soon after being laid-off, but still puts her at around 12 months of seriously looking for a job for employment.

What bothers me most and the importance of why I’m writing this post is that the economists keep saying that the Unemployment rate in the great USA is at 5% and steady. Well I say horse manure!  My wife got only 6 months of Unemployment checks(that we had to pay taxes on) and that was it. No more support from our Government. No more checks. No more nothing after that. On our own.  No Bailout.

This doesn’t sit right with me. Mostly because that 5% number is a HUGE LIE!  That number represents something that is obscure, not the TRUE state of our country’s Unemployment rate. What happens is once there are no more claims for Unemployment from an individual, then your “off the books.” They don’t consider you Unemployed anymore…even though you are!

Also, this whole “We added 200k jobs this month” crap.  What is that?  What kind of jobs are these “jobs” people are getting??  I guarantee these jobs aren’t the White collar kind. Probably the minimum wage kind mostly, but not the 6 figure kind, the dream job kind, the support your family Middle-Class kind.  There are more lay-offs happening than I’ve seen in my 20 years employed.  Granted my wife and I both work in the Oil & Gas Industry and times are hard for the past couple years for sure. This report of adding jobs is not specific and is thrown around like some great heavy boulder of truth, when actually it is completely misleading and in my book a lie.

The REAL Unemployment rate is somewhere above 12.6% per this article. I say ‘above’ because I believe there are more Unemployed today(2016) than there were in 2014. Also staggering is that the Unemployment rate is at one of the highest rates in the History of its recording Today!

Come on American Government, STOP LYING TO US AND PADDING SOME PATHETIC NUMBERS TO MAKE THIS WHITE HOUSE LOOK ‘GOOD’!!!  We are being lied to by so many that we can’t even tell what the TRUTH is anymore. Let’s fix this LIE and what these REAL numbers are for one & give the truth so we can at least look at ourselves in the mirror and be happy at what we see is looking back at us.

I’m praying for my wife to find a job and pray that those of you who are looking jobs find one as well. Not a job to pass the time, but a real job that is worth while and fulfilling.

* Full disclosure, my wife has been applying for 10-20 jobs a week for almost a year and has had 2 phone interviews only. Also, she is a Mechanical Engineer, degreed.

 

Leave a Reply

