Ash Wednesday 2013


Are you giving anything up on Ash Wednesday this year?

I have mildly contemplated it. I have in years past given up things and have even posted about them here in my blog as well.  This year is different for me.  I have been real busy loving on my little 6 month old daughter Sophie. We have been looking into buying a new home.  We are in the process of renting our current home out.  Work has been keeping my busy.  I have begun to work on an Emmaus team for Walk #72 as an ALD for the 2nd time.  My wife and I are enjoying serving as D-group leaders on sunday morning to our 11th graders and on and on…

I write and share these things above because this is my life and where my head is and where I am right now in my life.  Full of what life is supposed to be about and what makes me happy.  I’m grateful and thankful.  Grateful for the financial blessings to live this wonderful life God has given me and thankful to have so many great people in my life that love me for me and the joy that it brings me.

Could I write about the things I do day to day that are more important than fasting or giving something up for 40 days once a year, sure I could.  My thought is this, IF in giving something up for 40 days for Lent and then you return to your life unchanged, what’s the point of Lent and you giving something up?

Encouraging you to do more in your day to day life as a LIFESTYLE is what I am expressing here.  Give something up for Lent, awesome! Making that a LIFESTYLE, well that’s entirely different and that’s what Jesus has called us to do.

God Bless you in this Lenten season.

Leave a Reply

