Christmas 2011


What a blessing it is to celebrate this & every season of Christmas. In Sunday school class that my wife and I teach together, we asked every 10th grader this question, “What does Christmas mean to you?”  With many different answers, the same line did pervade every answer.  It’s about Jesus and being born and what he did for us. I was trying to hit home to them that they need to continue to focus on that aspect of Christmas more than just the presents under the tree.

That’s my issue with ‘Black Friday’ and the Christmas season in America today. It’s not about Jesus, it’s about monetary items, it’s about selling and advertising and capitalizing on the holiday rather than celebrating the Real reason for the season.  Understandably, the devil wants us to avoid the Real reason and get us distracted and focused more on a present to give or receive than worshipping Jesus and celebrating his birth some 2000 years ago.

I don’t focus on gifts anymore these days as I once did when I was a child. Nor do I give gifts to family members as I once did either. To me it’s giving back to charities and spending time with family and thanking God for the Best gift of all – the one and only true son of God, Jesus, the Christ child, the Messiah, the Saviour of the world!

So when your opening and unwrapping your gifts on Christmas morning, remember, the best gift of all has already given us the best he has, the best gift of all, his life for our sins.

Thank you Jesus and Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

