Sheep


I learned something very interesting I didn’t know before while visiting a friend’s Church in Dallas this past Sunday.  The message was a good one and I really enjoyed it.

The scripture had come from Psalm 23 and the preacher was breaking down the verses. When he started to discuss the sheep, he made an interesting comment on how we(Humans) are like sheep and how scripture refers to us as such. Point is that we are like sheep and sheep are stupid by nature. What does that say about us? I thought that was pretty funny.  One scripture states that we are like sheep and have gone astray. He also elaborated on how the shepherd handles his flock with his staff.  He goes on to state that when a sheep wanders off that the shepherd will go after the sheep and break one of its legs and then wrap up the leg so it will heal and then hang the sheep around his neck until the sheep is healed and then the sheep returns to the flock, never to wander again. WOW, I didn’t know that and what an amazing course of action that is.

I feel like when we have tough times and troubles that maybe it’s those times when God has broken one of our legs in order to get us back on the right path with Him.  What should we expect? That life should be easy and to never go through trials and difficulties? What good would that do for us? How would we be better as a people if we didn’t go through hard times? We wouldn’t would we. Hey growing pains are hard. I can recall growing up and feeling pain in my legs because I was growing. I was Ok with it because I knew that I would be growing taller and in order to do so, I had to deal with some pain. Such is life.

So, remember, the next time your going through hard times or are going through hard times now, that this soon shall pass and that it is for the better ultimately because our God cares for us like a shepherd loves his sheep.

Yea, though I walk through the valley…you God are always with me.

Read 1 Peter

Leave a Reply

