Using your Talents


To one he gave five talents of money, to another two talents, and to another one talent, each according to his ability – Matthew 25:15

In SS class this past Sunday we discussed the Parable of the Talents.  2 of the 3 people used their talent and doubled it’s worth and 1 hid his talent and never used it out of fear.  The 2 that used their talents were blessed and given high praise while the 3rd was given scorn and cast out where there was weeping and gnashing of teeth.

I thought about this scripture before and it hit me then as it hits me today. How important it is to give back what you have been blessed with(For it is better to give than to receive.)  How important it is to leave a legacy of good after you leave this planet.  To use the gifts God Almighty has given you while you are here on earth.  To share and not be stingy and greedy.  To smile and encourage someone.  To leave loving impressions on people and to leave people in a better state than when you met them.

I don’t think life is meant to be a huge riddle or some hard quiz.  I think it is simple in lots of ways. The problem is us.  I think we let the world jade us to points of forgetfulness.  Where we forget to smile.  Forget to love and give and share and say “Thank You” 

We must not be conformed to this world(Romans 12:2), but be transformed by the renewing of our minds in Christ Jesus. 

If we keep our eyes on the prize(Jesus) then I think we will be able to conquer anything that comes our way. I truly believe this. 

Life isn’t easy or fair.  But, to know that God himself is on our side.  To know that the creator of the Universe loves you & me and wants the best for us.  How comforting is that to know?  I know it gives me joy and happiness.  I know that no matter what happens, God loves me…Period!

We all get caught up in the daily grind.  I do too.  But, it doesn’t take me long to snap real quick and know that God is right beside me and that’s when I pray to Him and thank Him for where I am and what He has done for me and where He has brought me from.

I always pray.  I keep praying.  And no matter what God is right there listening and loving on me, wholeheartedly. 

For He will never leave you nor forsake you – Hebrews 13:5

I know this to be true.  I have burned these scriptures upon my heart.  There is no lie the devil can tell me because God Himself has promised me these things and I don’t need a book in hand to remind me, for I have burned these verses upon my heart.

Take this word of encouragement from me today.  Be bold in the Lord and KNOW that Jesus loves you FOREVER!!  amen!

Leave a Reply

