Swine


Do not judge, or you too will be judged. 2For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.  3″Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? 4How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? 5You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye. 6″Do not give dogs what is sacred; do not throw your pearls to pigs. If you do, they may trample them under their feet, and then turn and tear you to pieces. – Matthew 7:1-6

I have dealt with folks all my life who think that what I do and who I am is this or that and not in a good way.  I have wasted energies trying to argue and support my points of view as well.  What I have learned is, people are going to think and believe what they want to, regardless of what I have to say and/or do.

In a Christian website, CARM, the writer/owner of the site gets love and hate mail.  He posts it on his site both the good and the bad.  I think that’s Awesome!  He’s a bigger man than I am.  What’s funny though, now is to see those hate postings.  They are quite funny and people get so irate over what he says on his site.  I feel like him sometimes when I hear bad things and I do want to post things that people say to me so I can just laugh at it too.  It must be tough to have read those hate postings at first, but I’m sure over time, he got used to them.  Just like I have gotten used to people always talking about who I am and how I live my life.

I am who I am and won’t change who I am.  If people like me for me, then wonderful and if you don’t, then leave me alone and ignore me.  But please, take the PLANK out of your own eye before you come to judge me. 

The worst thing about people who drive me crazy are folks who are so accusatory and yet have a closet full of skeletons, but are quicker to judge than anyone on the planet.  It’s quite funny really, because I know that we all have sins in our lives and no one is perfect. 

I will say this again for the whole world to hear and be the first to stand up, raise my hand BEFORE anyone and say “I am a sinner and very imperfect and I am still trying to work out my salvation!”  That’s why I NEED JESUS!

The scriptures I have quoted talk about judgement and then move on to the part I would like to address mostly and that is the swine part.  You know, as scripture states, trying to cast your pearls before swine is a no-no.  I have met many folks that are stiff-necked and obstinate.  These folks I pray for, but I know that trying to continue to make points to them about anything is really a waste of time because of such.  So, I move on my merry way and know that nothing I have done in my past can’t change and I won’t continue to look in my past because it is what it is.  Hindsights 20/20.  I know there are things we all wish we could change, but dwelling on those things are unhealthy. So, we learn and move on.  Trying to argue with people of differing views is not good anyway.  Everyone has a reason or more to think what they want to as I do as well.  That’s fine and I’m OK with that. 

An important lesson I have learned in my past is this:  If you dislike something in someone’s life, make sure you’re a true friend of theirs before you go and make accusatory comments to them.  Build up that relationship to where you can make a point or comment to them.  Prayer needs to precede these comments or points as well as a friendship and trust.  Coming to another brother or sister needs to happen in such a way that is in a spirit of love and not in a spirit of accusations.  So the next time you want to judge someone about what they are doing.  Look at yourself first, pray and then see if making a judgement is the right thing to do.

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

