Food for thought


Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others–Phillippians 2:3-4

In yesterday’s sermon, our Pastor Ray gave a great message for all to hear.  Amongst many points he outlined in his sermon, he challenged the congregation to bless someone everyday this week ahead.  As I thought about his challenge, I was reflecting personally on things that I do that do bless others.  I believe that for me, it is an intentional purpose I have as a believer to bless others often and daily, not just this week.  I am not going to get into the different things that I do daily or have done or plan on doing, but suffice it to say, I DO INTENTIONALLY.

So, my question to you is this: What are you doing to bless others?  Will you try this challenge for this week?  Will you not just think of your own needs but the needs of others?

“Father, give us the strength to be a blessing to others as you are always a blessing to us your children.  In your name, Amen.”

One Comment to “Food for thought”

  1. Glad to see you were paying attention. 😉 I kid! 🙂 Without going into great detail and hijacking your comments…again… I’m tying this into what my Wed night bible study has been talking about – changing the way we think, praising God for all the positives in our lives instead of always focusing on the negatives, as well as learning to ‘love the unlovely’. It comes naturally to me to reach out and want to help those people in my life that I care about or strangers who I come across that need help, but not so much for people I do not get along with, so I’m trying to check my own ego in that regard. As fate would have it, the lesson was very timely, as last night I got word of a tragedy in a former friend’s life who I haven’t spoken to in years, and I didn’t hesitate to reach out and offer my support to her as I might have once. 🙂

Leave a Reply

