Suicide


Not sure about why this happens to be an answer for anyone

It saddens me when I hear about people committing suicide.  I think that it should never be an option.  There is always a brighter day just around the corner from the dark day you have been going through. 

I know that we all know someone who has committed suicide and that is real sad. 

I want to address the fact that there are so many people alive that want to LIVE that have horrible diseases like Cancer, Leukemia, AIDS, etc.  These folks are fighting to LIVE not wanting to die or commit suicide.  It makes me think of my ex-wife who had breast cancer and fought to live and battled cancer only to recover fully, thank God.  She wanted to live and suicide wasn’t an option.  So we did something about it.  Not giving in!!!

There are also suicide bombers.  These people really take the cake in my sadness of heart.  I hope that they realize this is a horrific way of ending their lives and causing so much pain, hurt and anger to those whom they have murdered and SHAME to their families.

I hear about people committing suicide in the Army.  I think I’m ignorant in why people do that there in the Army, I’m sure it’s hard, but I reference back to my first sentence.

Holidays are coming up as well and I know that this is always a hard time for lots of folks, especially those who have lost loved ones recently or during this time of the year.  This will be my first Holiday season single in over 10+ years and it’s hard for me too.  If you have been divorced ever, you know it’s like losing a loved one.  The relationship is dead and gone and loss is there.  I will make it through however as my focus is not going to be on self, but on Him who created me.

This Scripture passage(1 John 5:1-12) I think addresses and comforts the believer.  I know it does me.  I know that He has overcome the world and so will we!  Amen!

1Everyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ is born of God, and everyone who loves the father loves his child as well. 2This is how we know that we love the children of God: by loving God and carrying out his commands. 3This is love for God: to obey his commands. And his commands are not burdensome, 4for everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith. 5Who is it that overcomes the world? Only he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God.  6This is the one who came by water and blood—Jesus Christ. He did not come by water only, but by water and blood. And it is the Spirit who testifies, because the Spirit is the truth. 7For there are three that testify: 8the[a] Spirit, the water and the blood; and the three are in agreement. 9We accept man’s testimony, but God’s testimony is greater because it is the testimony of God, which he has given about his Son. 10Anyone who believes in the Son of God has this testimony in his heart. Anyone who does not believe God has made him out to be a liar, because he has not believed the testimony God has given about his Son. 11And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. 12He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life.

I received a note once on a piece of paper that said, “You can’t appreciate the Sunshine, until you have walked through the darkness”   This statement is reality for me and in my life!  Life isn’t fair or perfect(this was never promised to us), but when we have Jesus, we have so much to be thankful for and so much work to do on earth and so much to give.  May this be your thoughts as you focus with me this holiday season, not to focus on self but to look up and around you and be thankful and grateful for so much we have been given.

Blessings!

5 Comments to “Suicide”

  1. That’s a very heavy but timely post. Thought provoking as usual. Suicide is never the answer and it is a very selfish act, but I think you’d really have to get inside of the head of someone to truly understand the final decision. I’ve studied a lot on the issue as I’ve walked the dark and lonely road of depression before so much so, that I admit I came near to becoming a statistic. Thankfully, I am surrounded by so many family and friends that I have always gotten through. I don’t think it would surprise you that when I was in the darkest of hours, I had also lost my faith in God feeling he had abandoned me when in fact it was I who had abandoned him.

    I think for those in the military it can be a combination of many things – some from being on tour and seeing truly horrible things and having to do truly horrible things and being away from loved ones for so long in such a hellish environment. Then coming home and trying to re-adapt to a sense of normalcy that is no longer theirs.

    Suicide bombers tend to be so brain-washed they truly believe they are doing the work of their Lord, much like a christian Martyr, and often there is often also a threat against harm coming to their families if they don’t.

    I also believe in the fact that you cannot appreciate the good in life if you don’t experience the bad. I try to keep that as my mantra when times are tough and I also try to remember ‘If God brings you to it, God will bring you through it’. Sometimes I think I had to travel down the dark road to become who I am so that I could help others going through the same thing. Sometimes when you ask God for help, you don’t realize that he gives you what you need because you are looking for what you want (someone to love you, etc). God gave me the gift of humor and that has been my one great saving grace when the ugly demons of depression try to pull me back down.

    I’ve been single for several holiday seasons now and it wasn’t always easy, especially when I seemed to be the only one. However, now I enjoy them for what they are and the time to be with friends and family and to be thankful for all the true great things in my life.

    This year I suddenly seem to have more friends who are newly single and others going through hard times and I’ve decided to just plan as many events and outings as I can to keep everyone busy and distracted during a time that can cause feelings of overwhelming loneliness and stress. I might have to drag a few of them out of the ‘caves’ they’ve created for themselves kicking and screaming, but they’ve done it for me when I needed it, so I figure we’re all in this together and if they’re weak, then I can be strong for them.

    I hope you find yourself blessed and strong through the holidays! 🙂

  2. Thank you for your thoughtful words. I once considered it (ending it all/scares me to even use the word suicide) and I so remember at that moment of contemplation a song came to mind and as I started to sing it any thoughts of ending it all stopped. It was many years ago and whenever I think of that time I shudder because the pain did end and I have never went back to a moment like that. The song I know was from God.

    Have a good Thanksgiving and may you feel that “sunshine” every day. So love the words you quoted.

  3. I remember when I was in like 8th grade, I thought about it. Not sure why or what it really meant then. Now that I know and am an adult, it is not an option. Life is beautiful and I always am grateful no matter what because God is too good to me!
    Thank you all for your comments and thoughts. They mean alot to me!
    Happy Thanksgiving and Christmas!

    • Could I ask what it was that brought this topic into your mind enough to post about it? I know how hard this time of year can be when you find yourself single after a long-term relationship, as aside from the sadness of the loss of the relationship you are dealing with, suddenly, former traditions and festivities are different as well. Not to mention that often times, even though the people around you love and support you, they can be a bit blinded to how hard the adjustment can be for you.

      You can still be grateful and yet sad and while as an adult you know more about loss and the promise of a new day, my psych-minded brain has been pinging ever since I initially commented on Saturday. Not that I think you are suicidal in any way, but that maybe this post came about from feelings about the upcoming holidays.

      If I’m over-analyzing, I apologize, I do tend to do that, but if you are finding that the approaching holidays are bringing sadness with them, I am more than willing to talk with you about it if you ever need someone to listen – and sometimes talking to someone removed from the situation is easier. 🙂

      Seriously, if you ever need someone to talk to, send me a FB message or email or if you make it to game night next week – part of my many events to keep all my single people busy, (evite should go out soon) I’d be happy to chat then. 🙂

  4. I wanted to comment on this back when you originally posted it but since then it has come up several more times so I feel like I should share….

    First, I have been personally subjected to this on several occasions.

    My cousin did it.

    We had a best friend do it. My ex was second on the scene behind his own wife finding him. She and his children actually lived with us for a while afterwards. The wonderful people from my church helped us so much during that time. It’s been 6 years now since he’s been gone and I still get so upset at his selfishness even though I know that in his case, it truly was a mental problem.

    My ex even threatened it on several occasions.

    I don’t know that I will EVER understand the motivation behind doing such an awful thing. I think of it as extreme selfishness. I understand life is hard, it was never promised to be easy but do people really believe that’s the best way to deal with it? Sad that they have someone to (God) turn to but don’t. I guess I will never understand and am incredibly saddened for the families that must go on without their loved one after such an event takes place.

    Thanks for bringing up such a delicate topic. I guess I needed to unload and didn’t realize it.

    -L

Leave a Reply

