Brother Matthew


“Seek ye first, HIS kingdom and His righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you”  Matthew 6:33

Many thoughts and ideas come to mind when I think of this scripture.  I think of a time when I was focused on the Lord more as I began my Christian walk in my mid-twenties.  I think of times when I don’t seek Him first and seek my own self-serving desires.  I think of times where I can do more for His kingdom.  I think how much I need Him in my life, now more than ever.  I think how flawed I am as a man.  I think how much I need Jesus.

2 Comments to “Brother Matthew”

  1. What a great post! I think it’s inherent that to be human is to be flawed. The fact that you recognize that and think on it and what more you can do for the Lord, is more than most.

    Some would say it’s hokey, but in my nightly prayers I ask that the Lord help me live my life to serve Him to my fullest extent. I know I’m flawed and that I have weaknesses and doubts, but I still believe.

    I wish I could go back to the relationship I had with the Lord when I was a child and everything was so illuminated and easy. As an adult, I’ve been faced with doubts and confusion in trying to assimilate all I learned in my religious studies growing up and then my academic studies and life experiences – some good, and some painfully harsh.

    My sister once explained to me when I was still very young and distraught to think of Jesus as someone I invited over for tea and then I got up, distracted by some mundane task that needed attention and wandered off only to find myself in another room wondering where he had gone and calling out for him, at which point he would then say, ‘My child, I have never left you, I am still waiting here for you where you left me.’ Again, maybe it’s hokey, but I find that to be true – because no matter how much my life and my path has gone astray, when I look for the Lord in my life, I easily find Him.

    You may be flawed, you may sometimes lose sight of your focus, but trust that by having this blog alone, you are doing a great service to the Lord regularly.

    I don’t mean to hijack your comments and ramble on, but finding your blog was a breath of fresh air for me (and to be honest – a welcome surprise) and I like reading your posts and how they make me think on things. I’ve had a very long journey and I think that in a way, I was directed here for the very reason that I have been praying for someone who I could openly discuss my thoughts with, without ridicule

    We live in a strange world where people will go to great lengths to go to church looking their finest and brag to people about how much they do for the church and bombard people with chain emails and Facebook posts that profess how much more ‘Christian’ they are than others, and yet, in reality – they live as anything but Christian and have no qualms about poking fun at someone who is sincerely trying to do the Lord’s work.

    So, thank you for your blog. You may think you aren’t doing enough for His kingdom, but you really are.

  2. Thank you so much for your comment. I am truly blessed by your words. I love feedback like yours and am thankful for it. Let me know what other thoughts you have on other topics as well. Love to chat more from people who truly appreciate a good conversation.
    Blessings!
    sam

Leave a Reply

