Sharing the Gospel


Here is a great story on how this lady became a Christian, gathered from www.chron.com:

Blog Image

Conservative evangelical Christians blog on faith

Dr. Joe Parle, who invited me to participate in this Christ & Culture blog, suggested that I introduce myself more fully than his introduction a few weeks ago.  So here goes.

 I was born and raised in a suburb of Minneapolis, Minnesota, and was baptized and confirmed in the Congregational Church that our family faithfully attended.  Though the church had good moral teaching, I do not recall ever specifically hearing the good news that by believing in Jesus Christ we can receive eternal life through Him.  In other words, eternal life through Jesus Christ is a free gift to those who receive it.  At a minimum, if that was being taught, I wasn’t listening.

 I began attending the United States Military Academy (USMA) at West Point, New York in the summer of 1981.  In my “sophomore” year (cadets call it “yearling” year), I became friends with a “senior” (“firstie”), Marge, who asked me if I was a Christian.  I thought this was a strange question, as I figured she probably knew I wasn’t Jewish, so I was obviously a Christian.  At the time I was thinking that if you were an American, you were either Christian or Jewish.  I was nineteen and obviously had a lot to learn.

 Over time I realized that Marge was different.  She called herself a Christian and told me that Jesus was her best friend.  I found that strange as well.  Marge encouraged me to read the Gospel of John, which I did.  In reading John, I understood for the first time that Jesus wasn’t merely a historical figure, but He is God.  “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. …  And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.”  (John 1:1 & 14).  I began to see that the Jesus that I was reading about in John was the Jesus that was best friends with my friend, Marge.  I also observed Marge’s extraordinary relationship with her “Christian” friends, and I experienced unconditional love from her and her friends in a way that I had never before experienced.  Marge also encouraged me to read Evidence That Demands a Verdict which was written by a lawyer who set out to disprove the claims of Jesus but who ended up believing the overwhelming evidence in support of Jesus and His claims.

 At some point that year, I realized that I wanted what Marge and her friends had– a personal, vibrant relationship with the Living God, and I believed in Him.  At that point, whenever it was, I became a Christian.  “But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, to those who believe in His name….” (John 1:12).  Marge and John had made it clear to me that Jesus had paid the penalty for my sin by dying on the cross, and I merely needed to receive the free gift of eternal life that Jesus offered.

 Marge and many of her friends were involved in the ministry of The Navigators, whose motto is “To Know Christ and To Make Him Known.”  In my remaining two years at West Point, I was trained (discipled) by a couple of staff members of The Navigators as well as one of the USMA math professors who had also helped me to get to know Jesus personally.  They taught me how to walk with God and to teach others to do the same.  I learned right away that Christians are “Born to Reproduce.”

 After graduating from USMA, I plugged into Navigator ministries at my various U.S. Army duty stations, including Fort Sill, OK; vic. Frankfurt, Germany, Fort Knox, KY, and Fort Bliss, TX, where I served as an artillery officer.  While at Fort Bliss, I deployed with the 3rd Armored Cavalry Regiment to Saudi Arabia and Iraq for Operations Desert Shield and Desert Storm.  Shortly after returning to Fort Bliss, I married my wife of 18 years, Paula, who is a pediatrician.

 I left the Army in 1993 to attend Baylor University School of Law and graduated from there in 1995.  I then began practicing law in the Greater Houston Area primarily on behalf of insurance companies.  Gradually, I moved away from the dark side and began doing more and more plaintiff personal injury law.  I left the full time practice of law in 2007 and became Vice President & General Counsel of Grace School of Theology and Southeast Texas Regional Coordinator for NavFusion, a collegiate ministry of The Navigators, in 2008. Grace School of Theology (formerly “Houston Seminary”) opened in 2002, and I am a charter student, usually taking just one course per semester.  At my current pace, I may not earn a theological degree before Jesus comes back

 So much for me.

One Comment to “Sharing the Gospel”

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

Leave a Reply

