the older I get


I found out that an old friend of mine Joel Sykes passed this last Friday.  He had a massive stroke at the young age of 40.  I couldn’t believe it when I heard it.  He was on life support for about a day or so and they realized he wasn’t going to make it and they pulled the plug.  This is unbelievable because you are not supposed to die from a stroke at the age of 40!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  

I wish I had more another opportunity to speak with him, it’s been several years since I had.  He had left our church under not so good circumstances and the last time I spoke with him was at Texadelphia where we all used to meet for lunch once a week.

He remarried and moved away with his new woman.  This was unfortunate that we never had another opportunity to speak.  He was such a good guy, with a big heart for God and a big passionate person for music and for life.  He had a memory like an elephant and always remembered things I never could.

His funeral is Wednesday and this just makes me sad.  I realize how short life is and how ‘when it’s your time, it’s your time’ & ‘there really is nothing you can do about it!’

I know he was saved and know that none of us are perfect and at least what he went through was seemingly quick and painless.  He will be missed.  Miss ya Joel.  Sorry we never had another chance to reconnect man.  I wish things didn’t turn out the way did and wish we had continued our wonderful friendship and memories we were building with our families at the time.  Love you man and you will be missed!

The longer I live, I guess the more I will see people pass around me….how sad….I don’t want to live this life forever that’s for sure….

One Comment to “the older I get”

  1. They had the funeral yesterday for Joel at West U, UMC. It was a nice service and there was quite alot of people that showed. They cremated him, so there wasn’t any casket at all. That seems to be more popular lately unlike before from what I remember-cremation.
    The Pastor of the church spoke the whole time with some music in between and scripture reading. I saw many folks i haven’t seen in a long time there which was nice too. John and I went together and then had lunch afterwards. Sad, but I guess an inevitable part of life, just so young.

Leave a Reply

