sad day


I was reading this article about a man that has decided to take his own life, via assisted suicide in Switzerland.  I think the worst part about it is that they are going to show this on Television tomorrow in the UK.  From what I gather, he is in much pain per his own volition.  But, to air this on TV, to take pictures and share this with the world?  Not sure this is such a good thing.  I haven’t really given it too much thought from a Biblical perspective, but I don’t think taking your own life is a good thing. 

I think it’s a sad day, when TV is trying to cash in on something like this.  I don’t feel good about it and it doesn’t give me happy thoughts either.  I think it’s a hard day when you decide that your going to take your own life, no matter who is around and supporting you.  We all have a time to die.  I have been faced with it myself and have come through it.  We all have had bad days and been sick in one form or way or another.  But to take your own life and end it all is so Final that maybe if he wanted to change his mind at the last second it was too late because the pressure was on.  I don’t know, but having TV involved and pictures taken during the moment you decide to take your life just can’t be right, can it?

Where and when does the desensitizing of life end?  We hear about people being murdered and killed everyday, yet we brush it off because it hasn’t happened to us.  We hear about people being killed abroad, genocide in Africa, death toll in Iraq, and we become desensitized to the harsh reality that life is precious, beautiful and sacred.  When is enough…enough?

Leave a Reply

