West Coast Christian


I grew up in a Muslim culture with my dad and his side of the family in Southern California.  My parents were divorced when I was about 3 or 4.  I had chosen to live with my dad and did so for most of my adolescent years.  I had accepted or at least tried the Muslim faith for a short period of time when I was about 14 or so.  I did realize quickly that it wasn’t for me though.  However, there was still the Arabic influence in my life that I loved: the food, my family, speaking Arabic, etc.

This story about a young man growing up Muslim in the West Bank(Israel/Palestine) and now seeking asylum in Southern California(United States) and attending a Christian Church and forsaking the religion he was brought up with reminds me of my past history and growing up in a similar fashion. 

This has conjured up many thoughts, feelings, memories and emotions.  I’m very proud of this young man for doing what he has done.  The fact is, when you do what he has done, your family forever forsakes you as well.  It’s the culture that dictates this.  Although, his mother might still want to love on him, I’m sure, the fact is, he has left everything he knows to accept, embrace and share his faith in Jesus Christ.  Praise God!!

This brings me to another point.  That is how blessed and privileged we are to live in the United States of America and enjoy the freedoms that were bought by blood by our forefathers to give us the life we have today.  This young man received it and relishes in the beauty of Freedom!  Long Live Freedom!! 

We as Americans, should be more thankful and grateful that we have the rights we do have to practice whatever religion you want in our God Blessed Country, the great USA!  We all have this right, and I know that I’m grateful for it.

I am honored and wowed by this story and hope you read it all, because it is very enlightening and inspiring.  It just hit me so hard and not growing up in “The Church”, but accepting Christ when I was in my early 20’s, Jesus is someone whom I will never forsake or take for granted, especially seeing many sides of life, and other faiths and realizing that He is the only way and truth and life. 

I’m proud to say I’m Christian, from the mountain tops!

One Trackback to “West Coast Christian”

Leave a Reply

