are you who you want to be?


“This is your life, are you who you want to be?”  is the name of a song by the band Switchfoot.  My thoughts on this subject are pretty strong, the more I listened to this song, the more I thought.  What I thought about was “am I happy and exactly where I want to be?” and “Are the people listening to this song questioning themselves as to where they are in life and are happy in it as well?”    

I am happy right now in my life, even though there have been trials and tribulation in my life as of late.  It seems we are coming out of a BIG deal and hopefully into some calmer pastures.  My focus is more on where you are in life.  I know that we all have dreams, hopes and aspirations.  But, are you happy with yourself, your job, your spiritual walk?  Are you content?  or are you complaining, grumbling, mad at someone else for something they did to you, moping around like your life is soo bad and no one has ever been where you are EVER?!?!?!  That’s what I’m thinking about, when the ‘title’ words come to mind.

You know it can ALWAYS be worse than where you are now.  I know that too well.  It seems that even though I’ve had a crazy life and tough/bad/hurtful things have happened to me, I always know that someone out there has it worse…always.  So, I lift my head up, pick myself up off the floor and focus on the positive things in life.  I’m a kind of half-full type of guy, not half-empty.

So back to the question.  Are you heading in the right direction that you want to go?  Have you prayed about where you are in life?  or are you doing your own thing, making your own plans and leaving the Creator out of it completely? 

I am not perfect just like you.  Thus, we all fall short, right?  So, given that, we all do things that are not right and continually make mistakes daily.  But, I try to improve and make my life better.  Draw closer to HIM.  Make the Better decision, rather than the easier or harder one.

I believe that with God’s help and direction, I am at a place that I’m proud of, not ashamed.  I actually look at my life today and think about where I was 10 years ago and where I am today and realize how grateful I am to be where I am.  Not in a prideful way, but in a grateful and humbled way, do I say this and feel this. 

So, where are you and are you who you imagined yourself to be today? right now?  If so, great…if not, what are you doing or going to do about it?

Leave a Reply

